Review: Elizabeth Hand’s “Generation Loss”

by writereaderly

elizabeth hand generation lossSince I had been so comprehensively dazzled by Hand’s Available Dark, it only seemed logical to read her Cass Neary series opener. We have the same principles: reprehensible heroine, near-junkie, photographer, nihilist and “damage” connoisseur who ends up in a grim locale (here: Maine islands in midwinter), encounters bizarre and disturbing locals, and gets to photograph some dead people in insalubrious circumstances. It was a solid novel, alright, and I’d recommend it for photographers and dilettantes of the dark side. For me, though, I think you can only get smitten by an author the once. Sigh. The end.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading:
A few beddy, armchair reads
Where it went: Home
Best line of the book:
Reminds me of/that: Never try to relive first love
Who I’d recommend it to:

Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; Returning the Gift edited by Joseph Bruchac; The Pea-Pickers by Eve Langley; When Things Fall Apart by Pema Chödrön; Five Photos of My Wife by Agnès Desarthe

