Review: James Salter’s “All That Is”

by writereaderly

james salter all that isSalter’s novel follows the life of navy-man than NY publishing house editor, Phillip Bowman, primarily through the vagaries of his romantic life. It’s absorbing, well-crafted, well-written, a writerly way of passing time. I think I’m forgetting it already, though, so I’ll summarise it as beautiful but unremarkable.

Where it came from: Birthday gift from MOD
Time and manner of reading:
An evening bedtime sampler and a morning lie-in irresistible read
Where it went: MOD
Best line of the book:
Reminds me of/that: Sebastian Faulks, Shirley Hazzard, Annie Dillard’s The Maytrees – similar sparse, poised prose
Who I’d recommend it to:
Seekers of a solid, good read
Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; Peeling the Onion by Günter Grass; Returning the Gift edited by Joseph Bruchac; Moments of Desire edited by Susan Hawthorne and Jenny Pausacker

