Review: Larry Duplechan’s “Blackbird”

by writereaderly

larry duplechan blackbirdThe first US black gay male coming-out story – exuberant, funny, solid, a great read. High-school senior Johnnie Ray tells of his final year of high school as he comes out, stands by his friends, and stands by himself. He’s delighted to be gay, and he’s gonna damn-well *be* gay. Good on’im. Great to read such a positive book, despite all the terrible things Johnnie Ray has to narrate, and so entertaining. Laugh out loud. Read it.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading:
One well-spent afternoon in the armchair
Where it went: Home
Best line of the book: “‘Well,’ he said, ‘good luck in college, Rouss. And be careful at that UCLA. I hear there’s a lot of perverts out there.’
‘I know,’ I said, tickling the old fool’s palm with my middle finger. ‘That’s why I’m going.’ (p.204)
Reminds me of/that: Rubyfruit Jungle would be the closest dyke equivalent
Who I’d recommend it to:
Those after a good, entertaining read
Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; Peeling the Onion by Günter Grass; Returning the Gift edited by Joseph Bruchac; Moments of Desire edited by Susan Hawthorne and Jenny Pausacker

