Review: Kathryn Harrison’s “The Seal Wife: A Novel”

by writereaderly

kathryn harrison the seal wifeI kept seeing this novel EVERYWHERE, couldn’t remember if I’d read it, would read the back and grimace at the prospect – “a man’s obsession with a mute Inuit woman” – but eventually I picked it up and I’m so glad I did. It’s bleak and poetic, creating silence and space and anonymity, to explore silence and space and identity and purpose. Quite beautiful. Highly recommended.

Where it came from: UPB
Time and manner of reading:
Armchair, bed, dentist and back-of-the-con reads
Where it went: Not telling
Best line of the book: [Oh, there’s a book of lovely lines here]
Reminds me of/that: Very similar in tone to Frederick Busch’s The Night Inspector
Who I’d recommend it to:
Those seeking beautiful, poetic arctic bleakness
Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; Life on Earth by David Attenborough

