Review: Yoko Ogawa’s “The Housekeeper and the Professor”

by writereaderly

yoko ogawa housekeeper + professorContemporary Japanese novel. A housekeeper is to attend to a mathematics professor whose brain damage leaves him an 80-minute span of memory. But it’s so sweet, ‘cos the housekeeper and her son can bond with him over maths problems! Ergh. Initially kind-of-but-not-quite novel (see Reminds me, below), but then just boring to one not enchanted by mathematical elegance. Abandoned not even half-way through. Sigh. I thought I’d make some inroads on the Global Women of Colour Challenge, but not with this title I won’t.

Where it came from: Opshop
Time and manner of reading:
An increasingly bored armchair read
Where it went: Home
Best line of the book:
Reminds me of/that: Jostein Gaarder’s Sophie’s World – neither could hold my attention for very long
Who I’d recommend it to:

Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; Stella Miles Franklin by Jill Roe; Gould’s Book of Fish by Richard Flanagan; Life on Earth by David Attenborough

