Review: Virginia Woolf’s “Between the Acts”

by writereaderly

virginia woolf between the actsJune 1939. Some posh manor house or other hosts an annual pageant. People in the manor think things. The day ends and the war is starting soon. The end. I clearly didn’t understand what this book was about, and I didn’t enjoy it despite my confusion; normally I admire Woolf’s structure or technique, but I’m unmoved by this one. Move along, nothing to see here.

Where it came from: KJM’s bookshelf
Time and manner of reading:
A couple of days of trainy / beddy reads
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that:
Who I’d recommend it to:

Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper; Belonging by bell hooks; Simone Weil by Francine du Plessix Gray

