Review: Tom Wolfe’s “The Bonfire of the Vanities”

by writereaderly

tom wolfe bonfire of the vanitiesA non-review which will yet constitute a review: Quit without comment after the first two chapters of exclamation marks. Oh, I did read the self-important prologue about how many times Wolfe believes he’s been the voice of the zeitgeist with his novels. It did not endear him to me, although the historical overview of the novel was informative. Summary: This is bookclub’s last book and I have no interest in reading it.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading:
One extremely brief read
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: Life is short and this book is over 700pp long
Who I’d recommend it to:
Readers who are not me
Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper; Fish-Hair Woman by Merlinda Bobis

