Review: Julian Barnes’ “The Sense of an Ending”

by writereaderly

julian barnes sense of an endingThis book was so banal that even 149pp was too many to get through. I think I made it to p100 of this riveting tale of a 60+ year old getting drawn into a memory war with his ex-girlfriend from university. Puh-leese. Despite respected recommendations that Barnes is a good novelist, I should have known what to expect: the chair of the Booker Prize in the year this novel won (2011) commented on the importance of literature being “readable”. No further comments, Your Honour, and possibly no further Barnes.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading:
Town-waity sample and failed armchair attempt
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that:
Who I’d recommend it to:

Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley

