Review: Virginia Woolf’s “To the Lighthouse”

by writereaderly

virginia woolf to the lighthouseI have a lighthouse-related Winterson on the bedside table waiting to be read, and I suspected that Winterson’s Woolf fetish may make this one required reading. I also knew it would probably be a reread, but it turns out to be a rereread. The Ramseys – tin-pot egotist Mr, controlling family goddess Mrs – consider taking their children and assorted houseguests to visit the Lighthouse (yes, it’s capitalised throughout). What are the thoughts and feelings of each of them during that fateful September day and its aftermath a decade later? Skilled, fluid, artful, insightful. Classic Woolf, I venture to say.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading:
A wee-smas insomnia read and a lie-in wrap-up
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: A Katherine Mansfield short story? But then, perhaps just of itself, and I’ve blurred books read at a similar time
Who I’d recommend it to:
Readerly readers
Also reading: Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust

