Review: Sue Woolfe’s “The Secret Cure”

by writereaderly

sue woolfe the secret cureI picked this one as something light but literary, based on Woolfe’s Leaning towards Infinity which I read many years ago. Alas, this one was too light and too formulaic for me. Stalker (but he’s in love) and narrator Galileo works in a science lab as a cleaner, where he becomes besotted by young, beautiful, naive Eva, who is besotted by older, world-wearied, brilliant, socially inept scientist Gunther Mueller. Initially I was delighted to read a self-concious “women in science” novel, and was busy plotting which of my lady-scientist friends I’d pass it on to. After a good 180pp, however, the stale narrative trick of the quirky outsider just irritated me, as did the shallow science, the autism obsession — it’s a novel of its time (2003), before we all knew about being On The Spectrum –, and the doomed, irritating romance. Enough of “artistic” (as one friend slipped one day) folk and glassware. Abandoned.

Where it came from: Library reject shelf
Time and manner of reading: Two good attempts, then a morning rejection chapter
Where it went: Opshop
Reminds me of/that: My mates in labcoats
Who I’d recommend it to:
Also reading: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Politics of Ecstasy by Timothy Leary; Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

