Review: Marie Darrieussecq’s “A Brief Stay with the Living”

by writereaderly

marie darrieussecq brief stay with the livingA tragedy happened 25 years ago in the lives of Mother and daughters Jeanne, Éléonore and Anne. What was it? How were the women affected? Darrieussecq has a heavily worked style, telling this narrative in the four women’s internal voices (plus a token Father chapter). I had fun with the trilingualism of the text – English, French, Spanish – but the sloppy Spanish and slightly unrealistic Buenos Aires (mango picking on the Tigre Delta?) annoyed me. No plot was really required or supplied for this revelation of characters, and I can’t say I found this book enjoyable – too much effort for solid Froggy cleverness but too little entertainment.

Where it came from: Opshop
Time and manner of reading:
Multiple sample reads – dense, so segmented
Where it went: ???
Reminds me of/that:
Who I’d recommend it to: Readers wanting to keep up with modern European style
Also reading: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Seven Sisters of the Pleiades by Munya Andrews

