Review: Jeanette Winterson’s “Art Objects: Essays on Ecstasy and Effrontery”

by writereaderly

jeanette winterson art objectsI had pretty much written off Jeannette Winterson under the comment “My god, she can write, but my god she’s a wanker”. I even confess that when I recently put together a Must-Read Literary Lesbians list for a newcomer to the sisterhood, I included only one short story, ‘The Poetics of Sex’. These essays have renewed my faith, however, and made me eager to (selectively) reread JW to see what I can understand in her now. Here, she writes of poetry, artistic need, social need, purpose, transcendence, sexuality, and book obsession, with insightful pieces on Woolf, Stein and others. The pretentious introductory “why we should love pictures” essay aside, this is a fine and challenging collection. Recommended.

Where it came from: MM’s Bookshelf
Time and manner of reading:
Sleepy bedtime sample and devoted morning hoe-in
Where it went: Home, but I wish I had a copy for the Keeper Shelf
Reminds me of/that: Anne Fadiman’s Ex Libris
Who I’d recommend it to: JH, MOD, EC
Also reading: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Seven Sisters of the Pleiades by Munya Andrews; A Brief Stay with the Living by Marie Darrieussecq

