Review: Rabbit #4

by writereaderly

rabbit4A sympathy and enthusiasm subscription (the editors were nice to me) which has taken me a nice, slow year to get through. One of the forms of poetry which I find most inspiring is “documentary poetry” or “poetry of witness” as it’s sometimes called, and I was hoping this journal of non-fiction poetry would help create an audience for it. In this edition, I enjoyed Rob Walker, Mark O’Flynn and Peter Tranter’s poems, and really liked the visual poetry of Anne Lynam, but most of it I found to be wanky, overworked, crazier-than-thou experimentalism – which clearly doesn’t float my boat when there’s no soul to underpin it. It was useful to have regular poetry to read between chapters or essays or stories of other tomes; I enjoyed exercising my discernment and helping learn what I liked and how I wanted to write; the few really good ones were worth the read, so I’ll carry on with the next three editions is (probably equally slow) increments.

Where it came from: First of a one-year subscription to Rabbit
Time and manner of reading:
Numerous kaleidoscopic poetry reads over, oh, about a year
Where it went: Keeper Shelf
Reminds me of/that: To be a writer, one must do writerly things (including, of course, writing)
Who I’d recommend it to: Fans of experimental new voices
Also reading: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Seven Sisters of the Pleiades by Munya Andrews

