Review: Marion Halligan’s “The Golden Dress”

by writereaderly

marion halligan the golden dressAbout 150pp in, I realised that lack of surprise I was feeling as the plot unfolded meant that I’d actually read this book before. Duh. The Golden Dress is the story of artist Ray, partner & graphic designer Martina, and I suppose of what it takes to come back to the world after devastating loss. It swings between 1950s-60s Newcastle, 1990s Sydney and Paris; Halligan’s writing is skilful and imagiste, one could say, and it’s not a bad book (if overlong). I wasn’t moved by it as much as I was by Lover’s Knots, and I actually found the Paris framing tale a little sello-taped on, but I could only resonate with Martina’s love of light and her discovery of dancing as bodily presence. Not evil.

Where it came from: Library sell-on shelf
Time and manner of reading:
Armchair samplers, and two morning read-ins
Where it went: MR
Reminds me of/that:
Who I’d recommend it to: Halligan fans
Also reading: Rabbit #4; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Seven Sisters of the Pleiades by Munya Andrews

