Review: Jasper Fforde’s “The Eyre Affair”

by writereaderly

jasper fforde the eyre affairReserved and snaffled from the library as a guaranteed smart, fun read, I rushed to my reading corner with unseemly haste once I was home from town. Plot: in a parallel 1985 UK, LiteraTec Special Operative Thursday Next must defeat the dreaded Acheron Hades, save Martin Chuzzlewit and Jane Eyre from oblivion, and reclaim the love of Landen Parke-Laine. I was simply dazzled by this book the first time around, all its witty litty in-jokes and smart-arsery, and I’d been dying for it to finally be delivered to bookclub. Since we’d been waiting a year, I cut to the chase and hunted it out – and while it was good, I wasn’t blown away this time. Sigh. Guess it’s a first-time only enrapturement, but one that’s highly recommended for those who have yet to enjoy the experience. I’ll still keep my eye out for his new colour series, also.

And PS, no Miss Havisham! She must be in one of the sequels! I finished wretched Great Expectations largely for the sake of the wrong book!

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading:
Afternoon and evening armchair reads, as soon as I could decently escape human company for the sake of an inanimate object aka book
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: Love at first sight only happens the once
Who I’d recommend it to: Readerly readers after good fun
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; A Factory of Cunning by Philippa Stockley

