Review: Stefan Merrill Block’s “The Story of Forgetting”

by writereaderly

stefan merrill block the story of forgettingThe second of AJ’s book parcel, she considered it bound to be a modern classic. I wish I could agree. It’s the story of 15 y.o. narrator Seth dealing with his mother’s devastating hereditary early-onset Alzheimer’s, with interplaited stories from the family hunchback and the mythical world of Isidora. It just seemed to me such a writing school first novel, including the precociously awkward teen, the quirky freak narrator at the heart of the tale, the compassionate addressing of serious illness, the story of how we’re all human. I imagine that for sufferers and families of Alzheimer’s this book comes as something of a balm to their humanity, but I’m not excited or inspired by it as a novel. Missable.

Where it came from: AJ’s Bookshelf
Time and manner of reading:
Bed, armchair and gas-shop waiting reads, with decreasing enthusiasm
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: I have less and less respect for New York Times reviews and lists; their taste is considerably naffer than mine
Who I’d recommend it to:
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley

