Review: Deborah Rodriguez’ “The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul”

by writereaderly

deborah rodriguez little coffee shop of kabulI only read this one because it was urged upon me three times in one day and then left for me in the mail tray. Summary: a perceptive piece of war-zone fluff, if such a genre exists. Sunny owns the café, she has a rich blonde stooge of a friend Candace, a tough-as-nails British journo (OMG, she uses words like “shag”! how quaint!) Isabel, an Aghani house mother Halajan, and fleeing-stolen-pregnant “country bumpkin” Yazmina. There’s charming tales of food and customs and clashes between tradition and modernity, amid romance and terrorist attacks. Aw shucks. But really, not a bad book, good to read of ex-patting NOT from a white/upper-middle class/NGO background, and reminds me how glad I am not to be a piece of war-zoning fluff any longer. I’d actually recommend it.

Where it came from: JI’s Bookshelf via ED
Time and manner of reading:
Book, bed, park and hairdresser reads
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: How nice it is not to see machine guns several times a day
Who I’d recommend it to:
Those on the look-out for politically informed light reads
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; Delaunay by Hajo Duchting

