Review: Margaret Craven’s “I Heard the Owl Call My Name”

by writereaderly

margaret craven i heard the owl call my nameSecond time around, this book is still an utter pleasure, and a perfect palate cleanser after my last read. Young vicar Mark Brian is sent to minister to the Tsawataineuk people in Kingcome Village, British Columbia. During his two years there, he learns enough about life to be ready to die. Simple, clear and poetic, this slight novel is a humble hymn to the world. The descriptions of Kwakiutl life are sensitive, those of the country magnificent. I cried at the end. My life is richer for reading this book.

Where it came from: KS’s Bookshelf
Time and manner of reading:
One caffeine-fuelled Sunday morning read
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: Splendid simplicity
Who I’d recommend it to:
Everyreader
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Light between Oceans by M.L. Stedman; Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

