Review: “A Woman’s Voice: Conversations with Australian Poets”, edited by Jenny Digby

by writereaderly

jenny digby a woman's voiceMy one purchase from the entirely overwhelming Lifeline Book Fair in Brisvegas, I jumped into it and was absorbed from beginning to end. Digby interviews a dozen Australian poets – Judith Beveridge, Pamela Brown, Diane Fahey, Gwen Harwood, Dorothy Hewett, Antigone Kefala, Jan Owen, Dorothy Porter, Judith Rodriguez, Jennifer Strauss, Ania Walwicz and Fay Zwicky – only a very few of whom were on my radar. It was most interesting to read the poets I respected (e.g., Porter) as well as those I find unreadable (e.g., Walwicz), as they teased out their practice and philosophy. Some of the poets I found most interesting in interview (e.g., Fahey) seemed the most uninteresting to me from the description of her poetography, while others (e.g., Brown) appeared to be intriguing writerly curmudgeons. As a whole, the book was clearly situated in the popular feminist theory of the early—mid 90s, like Kristeva, Irigaray, etc., which dates it to some extent. Digby was well prepared in her interviews, and this was a most fruitful book. Recommended, particularly to writers.

Where it came from: Lifeline Book Fair
Time and manner of reading:
Armchair, work-break and bed reads
Where it went: Keeper Shelf
Reminds me of/that: Oh yes, I’m one of them [Australian women poets]
Who I’d recommend it to:
Poets
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Light between Oceans by M.L. Stedman; Jacob’s Room by Virginia Woolf; Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

