Review: Manuel Rivas’ “The Carpenter’s Pencil”

by writereaderly

manuel rivas carpenter's pencilWe’re in Galicia in the Spanish Civil War, the good guys are in gaol, the bad guys are winning, hero Dr Daniel Da Barca has been imprisoned with his Republican peers in Franquist prisons but manages to keep everyone’s spirits up – AND reunite with his true love. It was good but not fabulous, despite the sound translation; I’m happy that I’ve now read one Galician novel in my life.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading:
Bitser bed and beach reads
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: It’s like a cross between Patch Adams and Dead Poet’s Society for the Spanish Civil War
Who I’d recommend it to:
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Light between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

