Review: Janine Burke’s “The Heart Garden: Sunday Reed and Heide”

by writereaderly

janine burke the heart gardenBurke has written this as an art-historical biography of Sunday Reed, classic Melbourne debutante turned art midwife and back-to-the-lander, strongly influential in pushing Australian modernist art to heights of rebellion and renown. I’ve had one fabulous visit to the Heide gallery and its flourishing gardens, and I enjoyed learning about the background story to the creative output of various artists within Sunday’s orbit. I could – of course – empathise with these artists who farmed and milked on a gorgeous riverside property. Half of the bio was, however, enough to give me the gist of Princess Reed’s life, and I moved on to other paginous fare…

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading:
Various pressured reads, with decreasing interest
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: I think a chatelaine’s fascination only operates when one is in her immediate orbit
Who I’d recommend it to:
CH, JH, other art-fan friends
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Light between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

