Review: Kate Grenville’s “Searching for the Secret River”

by writereaderly

kate grenville searching for the secret riverIn need of some intellectual fluff, I moved onto this totally-not-urgent loan and devoured it over a couple of days. This is Grenville’s writerly analysis of her own research and writing process for the acclaimed Secret River, light in tone but sensitive in detail, thoroughly thought provoking. I appreciated it as a white Australian, a writer and a reader. Highly recommended.

***The forthcoming Terania Times will carry a fleshier version of this review.***

 Where it came from: MM’s Bookshelf
Time and manner of reading:
A few reads, mostly bedside
Where it went: Home, but I think a copy should head to KLM
Reminds me of/that: Oh, I do love a writerly read
Who I’d recommend it to: Historians and writers, Aussies and readers
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; Wonderful Women by the Water by Monika Fagerholm; The Stone Key by Isobelle Carmody

