Review: Isobelle Carmody’s “The Keeping Place (The Obernewtyn Chronicles, Book 4)”

by writereaderly

isobelle carmody the keeping placeBook four of the series: at a hefty 723pp, not for the faint hearted. Rushton is away and Elspeth is Master of Obernewtyn in his stead. Rigmarole is established and unleashed, an important character is kidnapped (who could it be?), another is discovered to be the Destroyer to Elspeth’s Seeker (again, no prizes for guessing there). Definitely absorbing, I was quite fond of the dreamtrails and the dragon as cunning plot devices, and I think I’m glad that Carmody thoroughly avoids any romantic scenes (I suspect she can’t write them) to focus on action. Getting a bit long, but that tends to be a fantasy/series trend: buckle in for the next one, it’s 1000 pages of mystical fun! Recommended; read on, MacDuff.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading: Several reads over the last five days or so
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that: I had it proven to me (again) that I read rather more obsessively than most… Sigh. There is no escape from one’s own nature.
Who I’d recommend it to: Other addicts
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch;The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon;Being Alive edited by Neil Astley

