Review: Karen Joy Fowler’s “The Jane Austen Book Club”

by writereaderly

karen joy fowler jane austen book clubI put this on the Bookclub list. I’d read it once before when I was stuck at forgottenperson’s house – it was the only possible reading material – even though I was embarrassed to touch it. However, once I noticed just how clever Fowler’s plotting was to tie her modern characters in with Jane’s plots, I promised myself I’d reread it with all six Austen novels under my belt. I did enjoy it this second time round, it was fun, pop-smart Austen for Austenians of all degrees, and sharply funny in its own right. Light, witty and fun, which is probably what an Austen-loving author should always aspire to. Go for it.

Where it came from: Library via Bookclub
Time and manner of reading:
About three reads, attentive
Where it went:
Home
Reminds me of/that: Personality cults do have their own momentum, don’t they?
Who I’d recommend it to:
Other “Janeites”
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch;The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon;Being Alive edited by Neil Astley

