Review: J.K. Rowling’s “The Casual Vacancy”

by writereaderly

jk rowling the casual vacancyI only read this one because it got three rave reviews on the farm and my opinion was specifically sought. Accordingly, my opinion: Not worth reading. It’s pacy, she’s obviously set up a plot full of conflict, but all of the characters seem to be more-or-less clichéd cretins, I’m unmoved by their issue, and neither the writing nor the premise have originality or charm to recommend them. Negligible fluff. Abandoned.

Where it came from: JI’s Bookshelf
Time and manner of reading: Two attempts, total of 70-odd pages; little has stuck in my mind
Where it went:
Home
Reminds me of/that: An overplayed small-town soap opera – KS sneers that it’s a book version of East Enders
Who I’d recommend it to:
Nope
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch;The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon;Being Alive edited by Neil Astley; The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

