Review: Paula Fox’s “Borrowed Finery: A Memoir”

by writereaderly

paula fox borrowed fineryPaula Fox, prolific novelist and children’s book author, is due to appear on our Bookclub list at some point in the future. This memoir was lent separately by – and with high recommendation from – MR, and has languished on the bedside shelf since. Fluidly written, it creates a mist of Fox’s life experiences which swarms around her reprehensible, dramatic parents, and zooms in to elucidate particular, loosely linked memories in detail. Fox’s writing is highly skilled, and the atmosphere created is powerful; I’m left with a generally dire impression of her life yet few specific incidents. Good, I guess, and I’m willing to sample her fiction. I’d like to read her directing her skills at a more powerful goal; memoirs often seem to be written for the author and the adoring fan, not the broader public, and I rarely get carried away by them.

Where it came from: MR’s Bookshelf
Time and manner of reading:
Bed-read and gallery armchair-read
Where it went:
Home
Reminds me of/that:
Who I’d recommend it to:
Memoir fans
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch;The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Kalila and Dimna by Ramsey Woods; Being Alive edited by Neil Astley

