Review: Isobelle Carmody’s “The Farseekers (The Obernewtyn Chronicles, Book 2)”

by writereaderly

isobelle carmody farseekersIt seemed perfect life-weather for continuing with my reinitiated Obernewtyn obsession, so I got the second one out from the library and hoed into it almost immediately. The writing and plotting is better than the first novel, and I was just as absorbed as I was every time I read it as a teenager.

Plot summary: Two years on, Obernewtyn is again/still in danger; Elspeth goes on a quest for Oldtimers’ books and a mysterious Talent; which romantic lead’s attentions could she possibly be missing, even though he’s right before her eyes?; everything turns out well enough to give you a breather before Book 3. Recommended.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading: Library, bench, bed and armchair reads
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of/that:
Who I’d recommend it to: As before…
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; Selected Essays by George Orwell; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Kalila and Dimna by Ramsey Woods

