Review: Marina Warner’s “The Mermaids in the Basement: Stories”

by writereaderly

marina warner mermaids in the basementAt uni I read and enjoyed Warner’s critiques and analysis of faerie tales, myths, etc., but then, it was the mid-90s and those ideas had their moment (remember Angela Carter?). These short stories are of that genre – feminism writing back to patriarchal literature and religion – and I just don’t find it interesting anymore. Warner’s scholarship and knowledge of the classics is extensive, and her writing isn’t entirely offensive, I was just bored by the principle underpinning her stories. Later reads aimed to just finish the bloody book, but I couldn’t even manage that. I may read more of her criticism, but I think I’ll pass on her fiction offerings.

Where it came from: Opshop
Time and manner of reading: Decreasingly enthusiastic reads over the course of 24 hours
Where it went: KS? Bookclub? Back to the opshop
Reminds me of/that: Atheism is still about God. Likewise, much feminism is still about men (not my preference, feminism about women).
Who I’d recommend it to: Pass.
Also reading: Rabbit #4; How to Read a Poem by Edward Hirsch; Selected Essays by George Orwell; The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon; Kalila and Dimna by Ramsey Woods

