Review: Michael Welland’s “Sand”

by writereaderly

A geologist’s most lyrical tale of his obsession of choice: sand. The book was quite interesting, and adequately written, although I always find the triumphalism, determination and narcissism of Western science irksome. Look how much we’ve clevered out! We must know everything because we just have to! Look how valuable it is for humans! I’d be happy for Welland et al to stick to “Look how fascinating and ineffable [sand] is”. Various amazing facts and images, though, don’t be put off by my 25-words-or-less critique of Western thought.

Where it came from: Library
Time and manner of reading: One long but nap-interspersed train extravaganza
Where it went: Home
Reminds me of: As per Eels review, but also a little of Daniel Boorstin’s remarkable The Discoverers
Who I’d recommend it to: More for science nerds than just generally curious thinkers, methinks
Also reading: Rabbit #4 (sorry, it’s been #4 all along)

