Review: Chloe Hooper’s “A Child’s Book of True Crime”

by writereaderly

So it’s a skilful enough novel, confident, carefully plotted, but why would you write about this topic and these nasty patriarchal clichés? School teacher Kate has tasteless affair with pupil Lucien’s dad Thomas, whose true-crime-writer wife Veronica might be out to get K. The women must be in it for vengeance or sex, and are (or are most probably) highly unstable. The classless shagging lawyer is untouched by scandal. The nuclear family stays wealthy and together. Blah. I will still read The Tall Man one day, but I think I’ll steer clear of Hooper’s fiction.

Where it came from: Bookshop
Time and manner of reading: A pre-picnic read, then a few post-picnic hours in the arm chair
Where it went: ???
Reminds me of:
Who I’d recommend it to: I wouldn’t.
Also reading: Still nothing else… Fat library books pending.

