Review: William Faulkner’s “The Reivers”

by writereaderly

Faulkner’s last novel, won the Pulitzer Prize in 1963, made into a movie with Steve McQueen. Eleven-year-old boy Lucius runs away with his grandfather’s chauffeur, his black servant and the new family motor-car – and what adventures they get up to! This was meant to be a comedy, but I didn’t even laugh accidentally in the 170pp I made it through. Abandoned once I got to the men fighting it out for the whore with the heart of gold: there’s many a better book awaiting my attention.

Where it came from: Opshop
Time & manner of reading: Disinterestedly about six months ago, and another week of attempting it in the same mood
Where it went to: Farm Bookshelf
Reminds me of:
Who I’d recommend it to: No.
Also reading: The Heart of the Matter by Graham Greene

