Review: Martha Gellhorn’s “Travels with Myself and Another”

by writereaderly

WARNING: Cover dysphoria

I grabbed this one because I’d been impressed by Gellhorn’s work as reported in the superlative history The Women who Wrote the War. This one tells tales of Gellhorn’s “horror journeys” as a war correspondent, starting in the 1940s. The “another” of her Chinese adventures was called “U.C.” for “Unwilling Companion” (aka Ernest Hemingway); her attempts to praise his efforts to be a decent travel companion remain a little forced. I gave up on this book not because she wrote badly or did uninteresting things (she met Mr and Mrs Chiang Kai-shek and Chu En-lai, for example), but because I don’t give a damn about travel narratives. She’s right: nobody wants to hear anyone else’s travel stories, and in my case, not even the terrible ones. I’d be willing to try her novels and other journalism, though.

Where it came from: Opshop
Time & manner of reading: A few decreasingly enthusiastic reads
Where it went to: MOD
Reminds me of:
Who I’d recommend it to: Fans of travel writing
Also reading: The Heart of the Matter by Graham Greene; The Reivers by William Faulkner (still ignoring them)

