Review: Truman Capote’s “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”

by writereaderly

Brought to the screen with our Audrey as will-o’-the-wisp “Miss Holiday Golightly, Traveller”. Capote’s Holly is a little sharper, a little less naïve than Ms Hepburn’s, and the novella’s a casual yet well-crafted little piece (also accompanied by three good stories). Of Capote’s other works, I’ve only read In Cold Blood (truly excellent), and the pair have easily convinced me to seek more of his finely honed writing. This one was a pleasure.

Where it came from: MM’s Bookshelf
Time & manner of reading: One bed-read on a lazy Sunday afternoon
Where it went to: Home
Reminds me of:
Who I’d recommend it to: Anyone and no-one in particular
Also reading: The Heart of the Matter by Graham Greene; The Reivers by William Faulkner (I’ve been doing a good job at ignoring them, haven’t I?)

