Review: Haruki Murakami’s “Sputnik Sweetheart”

by writereaderly

KT has a few of Murakami’s on her bookshelf, and I must say I only went for it because we have another of his on Bookclub’s up-and-coming list. I had to be talked into it, as all I’d read of his before was “The Wind-up Bird Chronicle”, which I found weird and incomprehensible.

However, I’m glad I read this one, I found it quite easy to sink into, and as it progressed it got more subtle and entangled and exploratory and interesting. Samire ♀ is in love with Miu ♀; she confides this and everything else to her dearest friend K. ♂; K. is in love with Samire. Samire disappears and Miu calls K. for help. Sounds mostly tried and true, but the plot’s delicately drawn out, and takes a wonderful, unexpected turn that’s unrelated to the core romance-tangle. The novel asks who we are, and where we are, and who we can be elsewhere. Enjoyable, solid, and the translation seemed to be splendid and nuanced. I look forward to reading more of Murakami’s. Go for it.

Where it came from: KT’s Housesat Bookshelf
Time taken to read: Two bed-nights and a bed-morning
Where it went to: Back home
Reminds me of: The philosophical bits reminded me of ‘Atoms, Motion and the Void’ by Sherwin Sleeves (radio series)
Who I’d recommend it to: Someone seeking a subtle novel of ideas
Also reading: “The Heart of the Matter” by Graham Greene; “Gertrude” by Hermann Hesse; “The Plumed Serpent” by D.H. Lawrence; “The Reivers” by William Faulkner

