Review: Helen Fielding’s “Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason”

by writereaderly

Spoiler alert: It’s all about Bridget getting to keep her Mr Darcy. Who’d have thunk it? Anyway, it has the same cringe-making laughs as the first one, and certainly lots of the same plot devices, but I’d probably have liked it better if I weren’t always comparing it to its older sister or the movie(s) with their po-mo casting witticisms. She needs an awful lot of rescuing, our Bridge, and I think she’s even flakier and less employable than before, but it was pretty entertaining and a lot more fun than the other books I’m managing not to finish on the Pillow Pile.

Where it came from: KT’s Housesat Bookshelf
Time taken to read: Three bed-nights, the second of which was a under five minutes of reading: the Colin Firth interview was so hilarious but embarrassment it nearly killed me, and I had to put it off till another night.
Where it went to: Back on the shelf
Reminds me of: Surprise, surprise: Helen Fielding’s “Bridget Jones’ Diary”
Who I’d recommend it to:
Anyone in need of chick-lit smartarsery, with a dose of Pride and Prej fan action thrown in
Also reading: “The Heart of the Matter” by Graham Greene; “The Blind Eye” by Georgia Blain; “Cold Comfort Farm” by Stella Gibbons; “A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man” by James Joyce

