Review: Asphyxia’s “The Grimstones: Hatched”

by writereaderly

What a fabulous book this was! Spontaneously lent to me at Cheese O’Clock this morning (my love of capitals IS becoming Dickensian, isn’t it?), I fished it out in gaps during the day and had finished it before I was even home from my pleasant political outing (only pleasant political movements will be contemplated from here on in). Quirky, charming, simultaneously delicate and childishly blunt. A wonderful invention, obviously beloved by its creator and designed to enchant. I would so love to see the puppet show in person, and will keep my eye out for both that and the next book(s). Read it, do.

Where it came from: MR’s Bookshelf (Child Pride Shelf)
Time taken to read: In the delightful shady sun at the anti-CSG protest in town today, then on the sunny road while hitching home
Where it went to: Back to its home shelf
Reminds me of: Oddly enough, the last section reminded me of “Baby Island” by Carol Ryrie Brink
Who I’d recommend it to: Most particularly LDC, perhaps even for her birthday this year (shh, don’t tell her)
Also reading: “The Heart of the Matter” by Graham Greene; “The Cloudspotter’s Guide” by Gavin Pretor-Pinney; “The Blind Eye” by Georgia Blain; “Cold Comfort Farm” by Stella Gibbons; oh, and “A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man” by James Joyce (long sequestered in the handbag as the Emergency Read)

